Once upon a time...

The history of REBO Germany

 

1869

1869.jpg

Together with his sons Christoph and Friedrich, Otto Schlothauer founded Otto Schlothauer and Sons OHG in Ruhla. They produced meerschaum goods and wooden articles in their small factory. In 1883, Christoph and Friedrich changed their name to C. & F. Schlothauer OHG and now, with ten to fifteen workers, produced metal haberdashery before they started producing gas/water fittings and electrical installation material shortly before the turn of the century.

1907

1920.jpg

Alfred Schwarz founded the Alfred Schwarz metal works in Eisenach and began to manufacture carbide and kerosene lamps, ball horns and candle lamps for horse-drawn carriages under the MELAS trademark. With increasing demand for electrical devices, the focus was on the development of vehicle electrical products: Tail and stop lights, car indicators and windscreen wiper systems were now part of the extensive product range.

1930

1939.jpg

Not only C. & F. Schlothauer was able to assert itself with fittings for the automotive industry and bicycle accessories. With the MELAS car indicator, Alfred Schwarz brought a bestseller onto the market: in 1932, 1 million automobiles were equipped with direction indicators. At the end of the 1930s, both were involved in armaments production, and the manufacture of war-critical products was the focus of all entrepreneurial activities

1945

1945.jpg

At the end of the war, the factories were placed under Soviet administration. The reconstruction was followed by the production of the pre-war range. MELAS dynamo hand lamps as battery-free flashlights became a hit on the dark streets of the post-war period. The first alternator was produced in Ruhla as early as 1947. With the transition to public ownership, the company was now known as Electrical Vehicle Equipment Ruhla (EFR) and Car and Bicycle Electrics Eisenach (AUFA).

1958

1958.PNG

Other company names followed before the Eisenach and Ruhla plants merged in 1958. The VEB Fahrzeugelektrik Ruhla – FER for short – was born. The increasing demand for products for the entire vehicle construction of the GDR expanded the production program steadily. FER manufactured starters, alternators, wiper motors, flashers, rotating beacons, flashing, brake and tail lights, bicycle lighting systems and much more under the new brand name "AKA".

1968

1968.jpg

The combine VEB Fahrzeugelektrik Ruhla was formed to concentrate business units in certain sectors. Thus, all processes from product development through production to sales were combined. Numerous extensions to previously independent companies allowed the combine to grow continuously. The number of employees rose to 6,500 and as early as 1971 the 25 millionth bicycle light was produced

1978

1978.jpg

FER was a series supplier for the entire vehicle electrics of the GDR and the production facilities meanwhile extended to 45 locations with 10,000 employees. About 30 percent of the products, such as headlights, fanfares and rotating beacons, were exported to more than 50 countries. A large part went to the Soviet Union and other countries of the Council for Mutual Economic Assistance, but also to Western European car manufacturers such as VW, Seat and Peugeot.

1989

1989.jpg

Growing demand for vehicle electronics and batteries required rationalization measures - entire production lines were automated. The range now consisted of headlights, lights, trumpet horns, starters, ignition and windshield wiper systems, bicycle lighting systems and much more. After the fall of the Berlin Wall, public property was placed under trusteeship. A time of uncertainty began: the question of the future was in the air.

1990

1990_FER Logo.PNG

VEB Fahrzeugelektrik Ruhla was converted to FER Fahrzeugelektrik GmbH, with the Treuhandanstalt being a 100% shareholder. A declaration of intent to set up a joint venture had already been agreed with Robert Bosch GmbH. A cooperation agreement was concluded and with the founding of Robert Bosch Fahrzeugelektrik Eisenach GmbH, core areas such as headlights and wiper motors as well as the training workshop were outsourced.

1994

1994.jpg

New sales areas were developed, cable production started and the AUFA Auto- und Fahrradelektrik GmbH was founded. After 45 years of socialist ownership and 2 years of fiduciary administration, FER was returned to private ownership on July 1, 1992. Klaus Lantzsch and Jonni Bachmann became managing partners and invested in a new plant in the Stockhausen commercial area. Production started there in 1994.

1997

1997.jpg

5 years of FER Fahrzeugelektrik GmbH in Eisenach and "90 years of bicycle lighting systems from Eisenach". At the same time, FER was awarded the innovation prize for the "12 volt bicycle spoke dynamo" and was the first manufacturer of LED side indicators for the VW New Beetle. In addition to 530 employees at the Eisenach site, there are subsidiaries in Chemnitz and Barcelona, as well as cooperation partners in Mexico, the Czech Republic, Belarus, Brazil and Vietnam.

2004

2008.jpg

In October, 100% of the shares in the company were acquired by Truck-Lite Co., LLC. acquired, one of the largest suppliers of light, cable and mirror systems for trucks and trailers in the USA. In 2008, FER was given a new name – Truck-Lite Europe GmbH – for a uniform image of the organizations in Europe. The products continued to be manufactured under the FER trademark. In the same year, Stephan Pfingsten became managing director of the company.

2013

2013.png

New development projects and orders were acquired, including roof modules for Audi. The "LED attachment optics for light bundling, light control and light distribution in roof modules" achieved first place in the plastics award of the International Society for Plastics Technology for outstanding development achievements in lighting technology. The corporate design was revised under the motto 'Back to the roots' and the 'old' FER logo was used again.

2017

2017.jpg

On November 2nd, the workforce celebrates the takeover of Truck-Lite Europe GmbH from the Chinese company REBO. The location in Eisenach/Stockhausen becomes REBO Lighting & Electronics GmbH. In 2018 and 2019, new orders from well-known and new car manufacturers, e.g. B. BMW, Daimler and Lucid acquired.

Es war einmal...

Die Geschichte von REBO Deutschland

 

1869

1869.jpg

Gemeinsam mit seinen Söhnen Christoph und Friedrich gründete Otto Schlothauer in Ruhla die Otto Schlothauer und Söhne OHG. Sie produzierten in ihrer kleinen Fabrik Meerschaumwaren und Holzartikel. 1883 firmierten Christoph und Friedrich zur C. & F. Schlothauer OHG und stellten nun mit zehn bis fünfzehn Arbeitern Metallkurzwaren her, bevor sie kurz vor der Jahrhundertwende die Herstellung von Gas-/Wasserarmaturen und Elektroinstallationsmaterial aufnahmen.

1907

1920.jpg

Alfred Schwarz gründete in Eisenach das Metallwerk Alfred Schwarz und begann unter dem Markenzeichen MELAS mit der Herstellung von Karbid- und Petroleumleuchten, Ballhupen sowie Kerzenlampen für Pferdedroschken. Mit steigender Nachfrage an elektrischen Geräten rückte die Entwicklung von fahrzeugelektrischen Produkten in den Mittelpunkt: Schluss,- und Stoppleuchten, Autowinker und Scheibenwischeranlagen zählten nun zum umfangreichen Produktprogramm.

1930

1939.jpg

Mit Armaturen für die Automobilbranche und Fahrradzubehör konnte sich nicht nur C. & F. Schlothauer behaupten. Alfred Schwarz brachte mit dem MELAS-Autowinker einen Bestseller auf den Markt: 1932 waren 1 Mio. Automobile mit den Fahrtrichtungsanzeigern ausgestattet. Ende der 30er Jahre wurden beide in die Rüstungsproduktion eingebunden, die Fertigung von Erzeugnissen mit kriegsentscheidender Bedeutung stand im Mittelpunkt aller unternehmerischen Tätigkeiten

1945

1945.jpg

Mit Kriegsende wurden die Betriebe unter sowjetische Verwaltung gestellt. Dem Wiederaufbau folgte die Produktion des Vorkriegssortiments. MELAS-Dynamohandlampen als batterielose Taschenlampen wurden angesichts dunkler Straßen der Nachkriegszeit zum Renner. In Ruhla wurde bereits 1947 die erste Lichtmaschine produziert. Mit Übergang in Volkseigentum firmierte man nun als Elektrische Fahrzeugausrüstung Ruhla (EFR) und Auto-und Fahrradelektrik Eisenach (AUFA).

1958

1958.PNG

Weitere Firmierungen folgten, bevor es 1958 zur Fusion der Werke in Eisenach und Ruhla kam. Der VEB Fahrzeugelektrik Ruhla – kurz FER – entstand. Der steigende Bedarf an Produkten für den gesamten Fahrzeugbau der DDR erweiterte das Produktionsprogramm stetig. FER fertigte unter dem neuen Markenzeichen „AKA“ Anlasser, Lichtmaschinen, Wischermotoren, Blinkgeber, Rundumkennleuchten, Blink,- Brems- und Schlussleuchten, Fahrradlichtanlagen u.v.m.

1968

1968.jpg

Zur Konzentration von Wirtschaftseinheiten bestimmter Branchen wurde das Kombinat VEB Fahrzeugelektrik Ruhla gebildet. Somit wurden alle Prozesse von der Erzeugnisentwicklung über die Produktion bis hin zum Absatz vereint. Zahlreiche Erweiterungen um bis dahin eigenständige Betriebe ließen das Kombinat kontinuierlich wachsen. Die Mitarbeiterzahl stieg auf 6.500 und bereits 1971 wurde die 25-millionste Fahrradbeleuchtung produziert

1978

1978.jpg

FER war Serienausrüster für die gesamte Fahrzeugelektrik der DDR und die Fertigungsstätten erstreckten sich mittlerweile auf 45 Standorte mit 10.000 Beschäftigten. Etwa 30 Prozent der Erzeugnisse, wie Scheinwerfer, Fanfaren und Rundumkennleuchten, wurden in mehr als 50 Länder exportiert. Ein Großteil ging in die Sowjetunion und andere Länder des Rates für gegenseitige Wirtschaftshilfe, aber auch an westeuropäische Automobilhersteller wie VW, Seat und Peugeot.

1989

1989.jpg

Wachsender Bedarf an Fahrzeugelektrik und Batterien erforderte Rationalisierungsmaßnahmen –ganze Fertigungslinien wurden automatisiert. Das Sortiment bestand inzwischen aus Scheinwerfern, Leuchten, Fanfaren, Anlassern, Zünd- und Scheibenwischereinrichtungen sowie Fahrradlichtanlagen u.v.m. Nach dem Mauerfall wurde das Volkseigentum unter Verwaltung der Treuhand gestellt. Eine Zeit der Ungewissheit brach an: die Frage nach der Zukunft stand im Raum.

1990

1990_FER Logo.PNG

Der VEB Fahrzeugelektrik Ruhla wurde zur FER Fahrzeugelektrik GmbH umgewandelt, Gesellschafter war mit 100% die Treuhandanstalt. Bereits zuvor war mit der Robert Bosch GmbH eine Absichtserklärung zur Errichtung eines Gemeinschaftsunternehmens vereinbart worden. Ein Kooperationsvertrag wurde geschlossen und mit Gründung der Robert Bosch Fahrzeugelektrik Eisenach GmbH wurden Kerngebiete wie Scheinwerfer und Wischermotoren sowie die Lehrwerkstatt ausgegliedert.

1994

1994.jpg

Neue Absatzgebiete wurden erschlossen, eine Kabelproduktion aufgenommen und die AUFA Auto- und Fahrradelektrik GmbH gegründet. Nach 45 Jahren sozialistischen Eigentums und 2 Jahren treuhänderischer Verwaltung gelangte FER am 01. Juli 1992 wieder in privaten Besitz. Klaus Lantzsch und Jonni Bachmann wurden geschäftsführende Gesellschafter und investierten in ein neues Werk im Gewerbegebiet Stockhausen. Bereits 1994 wurde die Produktion dort aufgenommen.

1997

1997.jpg

5 Jahre FER Fahrzeugelektrik GmbH in Eisenach und „90 Jahre Fahrradlichtanlagen aus Eisenach“. Gleichzeitig wurde FER mit dem Innovationspreis für den „12 Volt-Fahrrad-Speichendynamo“ ausgezeichnet und erster Hersteller von LED-Seitenblinkleuchten für den VW New Beetle. Neben 530 Mitarbeitern am Standort Eisenach fertigten Tochterfirmen in Chemnitz und Barcelona, aber auch Kooperationspartner in Mexico, Tschechien, Weißrussland, Brasilien und Vietnam.

2004

2008.jpg

Im Oktober wurden 100% der Gesellschaftsanteile durch die Truck-Lite Co., LLC. übernommen, einem der größten Lieferanten von Licht-, Kabel- und Spiegelsystemen für Truck & Trailer in den USA. Für ein einheitliches Erscheinungsbild der Organisationen in Europa erhielt FER 2008 einen neuen Namen – Truck-Lite Europe GmbH. Die Produkte wurden weiterhin unter dem Markenzeichen FER hergestellt. Im selben Jahr wurde Stephan Pfingsten Geschäftsführer des Unternehmen.

2013

2013.png

Neue Entwicklungsprojekte und Aufträge wurden akquiriert, darunter Dachmodule für Audi. Für hervorragende Entwicklungsleistungen in der Lichttechnik erzielte die „LED-Vorsatzoptik zur Lichtbündelung, Lichtlenkung und Lichtverteilung in Dachmodulen“ Platz 1 beim Kunststoff-Award der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Kunststofftechnik. Unter dem Motto ‚Back to the roots‘ wurde das Corporate Design überarbeitet und das ‚alte‘ FER-Logo wieder verwendet.

2017

2017.jpg

Am 2. November feiert die Belegschaft die Übernahme der Truck-Lite Europe GmbH von der chinesischen Gesellschaft REBO. Der Standort in Eisenach/Stockhausen wird zur REBO Lighting & Electronics GmbH. In den Jahren 2018 und 2019 werden neue Aufträge bekannter und neuer Automobilhersteller, z. B. BMW, Daimler und Lucid, akquiriert.